Rhyme.

Simple.

Perhaps a poem would be a good change of pace. I’m not a fan of Cinquains or Haikus, so I went with my favorite style..Seuss-ian.

Hope you enjoy “Emma Teaches.”

Emma teaches many things,

Many things I thought I knew.

Not facts or information,

Not 1 and 1 is 2.

~

No, she teaches things not found in books,

Can’t be heard and can’t be seen.

Like love and faith, hope and joy,

And all that’s in between.

~

She’s taught us how to trust in God,

We’ve learned it’s not our plan.

We’ve learned that He will lead us,

If we reach and take His hand.

~

She taught us how to handle,

The hard days we’re sure to have.

But more importantly, to remember,

Good days outweigh the bad.

~

She taught me to live beyond myself,

The simple power of a smile.

And how to wait for God to answer,

Even if it takes a while.

~

The things in life that matter most,

I suppose she’s taught that too.

And how time flies before our eyes,

Just look how fast she grew!

~

She was born with a special heart,

The doctors fixed it in short time.

And though she’s only one year old,

She’s fixed what’s wrong with mine.

~

She’s a sweet and small reminder,

Of what it means to live.

She’s taught me many lessons,

Without knowing that she did.

~

I’ve learned to love the simple things,

When she lays upon my chest.

There’s just one thing I don’t know yet,

…Just what she’ll teach me next.

Leave a comment